M&T Session 6

10 Mar

Photography

When I was a little girl my mom bought me a Polaroid camera and I took it everywhere. I was very selective about what I wanted to take pictures of, not because I was afraid to run out of film, but because (as my mom would say) I didn’t want to waste my time looking at pictures of things that I had already forgotten about. Pretty much doesn’t make sense at all. I guess I was a confused child, because now I take pictures of fun times with fun people specifically so I can hold onto those memories for even longer.

The camera has been a way of capturing people, times, and places for years. It is a part of technology that will never stop being improved. For that it is extremely interesting to me. The idea of this ever-evolving technology that really has grown up through the years with not only me, but the rest of society as well. I’d like to learn all about the way photography has evolved. I’d really like to create almost a timeline of that evolution and see how it corresponds with the social and political events of the time. What types of cameras were used in war zones? Who were the main photographers throughout the years?

Photography doesn’t play a huge role in my future career ambitions, but it is an important part of the rest of my free time. There is not a day that goes by where I don’t take at least fifty pictures and I would love to make my photography part of photography’s evolution.

What do you want to learn about it? What relationship will it have with your professional ambitions?

Leave a Reply

