The Media I Consume

13 Sep

If I stop and actually think about it, take the time and analyze what activities actually make up my day, it really is mostly just a wide abundance of media consumption. Whether is browsing my Twitter feed, scrolling through Facebook, or staring at the television, I am consuming media. The services I use include:

Television

Movies

Twitter/Facebook/Instagram

General Internet (Google/AOL)

Magazines

Still living in my mother’s house grants me general internet access and television for free, but just because I am not paying for it does not mean it is free. Television is really just seen as an everyday necessity in my house, it would be unnatural to not have it available. That goes for the internet as well. These two are paid for because having both of them has been become the norm. Going to the movies isn’t an everyday or even every week thing, but once a month or so going out and spending $12 on two hours of entertainment is worth it. I know as the price has gone up more and more people say that it is a rip off and the movie industry is making a killing, but if it really was too much money then no one would go. I am down to one magazine subscription and when it expires I don’t think I am going to renew it. Magazines are no longer a necessity because all of the articles within them are available online or even tweeted about before hand so you get the general idea. Spending $6 on a magazine that is only half as entertaining as it used to be is a rip off. Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram are all free, but I access them through my iPhone which unfortunately is a $30/month internet charge. When I first started this payment it really was too much, but now as I have been using that internet almost all day, everyday, it is a deal that it is only about a $1 a day.

I think that whether or not the media is a rip off or not depends on how often it is used and how far that cost goes. I think right now with the economy being as it is the media services are generally reasonable.

3 Responses to “The Media I Consume”

  1. dominthebox September 24, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Great post, I think you are accurate in describing the media services as being generally reasonable, the short and skinny of it is that you can absolutely get what you pay for but it’s your responsibility to do so.

  2. lindseylindseyblogblog September 27, 2012 at 4:54 am #

    I agree when you say that not being able to watch cable TV or have internet would be unnatural- and I guess it isn’t free. In my post, I said that these media consuming activities didn’t burn a hole through my wallet, but they do cost a decent amount of money per month, and maybe I take for granted that I don’t pay for everything on my own either (since I still live at home, too). I guess because we feel it’s something we need, the price doesn’t seem like such a big deal.

  3. andrewrosenberg October 3, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Hey Samantha, I agree with you when you mention “reasonable internet services” When I first got my Iphone I was mad that I had to pay 30/month data plan, but soon I realized that it was actually a steal. One day, hopefully not to soon, I have a feeling prices are going to sky rocket, everyone now-a-days relies on the internet, specifically internet devices besides laptops or computers. The internet is the greatest invention man has ever created in my opinion, but portable internet is even better. As of now prices seem fair, but it is only a matter of time before people won’t be able to afford the internet, this is just a feeling that I have, but like everything in this caotic world, money rules over human needs/wants.

Leave a Reply

